Early Years and Foundation StageEarly Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all those involved at this level a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

The Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework also ensures parents and carers can be confident that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

Children start primary school either in the year or the term in which they reach five depending upon the policy of the Local Education Authority. The primary school years, normally ages 4 to 11, are split into Foundation Stage (Reception) and Key Stages 1 and 2.

Early Years Foundation Stage
Areas of learning and their associated Early Learning Goals
Communication and languageSpeak and listen and develop confidence and skills in expressing
ELG 01Listen, respond and attention
ELG 02Understand, follow instructions and answer questions
ELG 03Speak, express effectively and talk about events
Physical developmentActive, interactive, develop co-ordination, control, and movement, understand the importance of physical activity, and make healthy choices in food
ELG 04Move and handle equipment and tools
ELG 05Health the importance for good health and a healthy diet, basic hygiene and personal needs
Personal, social and emotional developmentDevelop social skills, learn to manage feelings and have confidence in own abilities
ELG 06Self-confidence and self-awareness, confident to speak in a familiar group, ask for help when they need it
ELG 07Manage feelings and behaviour, know that some behaviour is unacceptable, work as part of a group, understand and follow rules, adjust behaviour to different situations, and take changes of routine in their stride
ELG 08Make relationships, play cooperatively, taking turns with others, show sensitivity to others’ needs and feelings, and form positive relationships with adults and other children
Literacy developmentEncourage children to read and write, access a wide range of reading materials
ELG 09Reading - read and understand simple sentences, use phonic knowledge recognise regular words and read them aloud accurately.
ELG 10Writing - use phonic knowledge to write words, write simple sentences, spell some words correctly
Mathematics developmentPractise and improve counting numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems, and describe shapes, spaces, and measures
ELG 11Numbers count from one to 20, say which number is one more or one less than a given number, use quantities to add and subtract two single-digit numbers, solve problems, including doubling, halving and sharing
ELG 12Shape, space and measures use everyday language to talk about size, weight, capacity, position, distance, time and money to compare quantities and objects and to solve problems
Understanding of the worldMake sense of the physical world and the community, explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment
ELG 13People and communities, past and present events, similarities and differences between people and among families, communities and traditions
ELG 14The world similarities and differences in places, objects, materials and living things
ELG 15Technology
Expressive arts and designExplore and play with a wide range of media and materials, share thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology
ELG 16Explore and use media and materials
ELG 17Be imaginative

Early Years and Foundation Stage Framework 2014

The Early Years and Foundation Stage framework has been updated in accordance with ‘The Regulation of Childcare’ published in March 2014 and comes into effect from 1 September 2014.

There have been no changes to the areas of learning and development, including the early learning goals. The revisions reflect changes which apply to Section 3 on Safeguarding and Welfare.

Download the revised Early Years and Foundation Stage Framework